Role Models

May 31, 2012,

Meet Juan Benages from Valencia (Spain)

Juan Benages was born in 1972 in Benetusser, a small town near Valencia (Spain). He worked as a graphic designer for 6 years, after which he studied film directing. He is now a Social Integrator and a part of the ENIL team in Valencia, where he collaborates actively with the Spanish Forum for Independent Living in…

Nov 19, 2011,

Role model: Meet Jose Alfonso Lopez from Spain

That’s my evolution in “The two Europes”: a mix of contrasts with a bittersweet taste. I’m José Alfonso. I’ve been on a wheelchair all my life and this is what I want to explain. My experience on wheels is a continuous challenge. I hate the monotony and I am so emotive, restless, that I can…

Jul 06, 2011,

Meet Magnus Andén, from Stockholm (Sweden)

Magnus Andén has been the chairman of JAG since the association started in 1992, nearly 20 years ago. In that role – as in life itself, as in this interview – Magnus needs support to formulate. This support is given to Magnus by his legal representative that functions both as a decision aid and interpreter….

Jul 05, 2011,

Meet Pilar O’Connor, Valencia (Spain)

Although my surname might make you think that I am Irish, I was born in Valencia (Spain) forty-nine years ago. I spent most life in a small town on the Mediterranean coast until I moved to the city where I am living now and that is the same city where I was born. I share…

Jun 14, 2011,

Meet Katja Villatoro, Valencia (Spain)

My name is Katja and I live in a village near Valencia for almost ten years. Before I used to live in Benidorm (Alicante), my profession was in the healthcare area and I was working in a private clinic as an assistant in the surgical area. I have a son, Unai, he lived with me…

Dec 07, 2010,

Meet Peter Lambreghts, from Gent (Belgium)

Born in Antwerp, Belgium in 1971. Happily married and father of two princesses. Enjoyed a wide range of studies on bachelor level. Volunteer and active member of several associations of persons with a disability. Chairman or board member of several think tanks,organizations and associations in the protection of interests of people with a disability. Elected as ENIL board…

Dec 01, 2010,

Meet Gisele Caumont, from Mora (Sweden)

  Gisèle Caumont, who is French, but nowadays is living in Mora in the north of Sweden, has answered 10 questions: What is your personal experience of disability? I have cerebral palsy since birth. I am French, born in Paris just before the war began. My father was a prisoner i Germany and my mother…

Nov 17, 2010,

Meet Gordana Rajkov, from Belgrade (Serbia)

  –How and when have you discovered or came to know about the Independent living movement?   As my parents died when I was very young,  I stayed on my own and I practiced independent living style almost all my life, without thinking whether it has some particular name or philosophy behind it. First information about…

Nov 15, 2010,

Meet Gina McNamara, from Galway (Ireland)

  Gina Mcnamara My name is Gina Mc Namara from Galway in the West of Ireland.  I am a person with a visual impairment since birth.   I have Congenital Glaucoma which means I am completely blind in one eye, with partial sight in the other.I have not let my disability stand in the way of living independently….

Nov 15, 2010,

Meet Zora Brozina, from Zagreb (Croatia)

Ms. Zora Brozina, Association for the Promotion of Equal Opportunities from Zagreb, Croatia. –How and when have you discover or came to face with the Independent living movement? I have become aware of the ENIL Movement through APEO when you contacted us and told us about your movement. Then Mr. Danči Maraz contacted me to…

Aug 25, 2010,

SVEN KÕLLAMETS Interview

Name: SVEN KÕLLAMETS Organization: NGO HÄNDIKÄPP The conference or other activity you are attending: IL-TRAINING Why your willingness to attend this ENIL activity: I am very interested and motivated to participate in this event, because I really need the background information from other countries (theoretical and practical aspects and legislation) concerning independent living. During the…

Aug 13, 2010,

Incontra Raffaello Belli, (Italia)

  Ho una laurea in Scienze Politiche con unatesi sulla vita indipendente, che ricevette il massimo dei voti.   Lavoroin uno dei principali istituti italiani di ricerca nel campo dellematerie giuridiche e gestisco un sito internet su diritto e disabilità. con migliaia di documenti. Ho anche scritto relazioni e libri sempre su diritto e disabilità….

Aug 12, 2010,

Meet Raffaello Belli, (Italy)

I have a university degree in political sciences with a thesis on Independent Living, which I liked very much. I work in a main nationalsearch institute on legal sciences and I run a website on law and disability with thousands of documents. I have also written papers and books on law and disability. What is…

May 12, 2010,

Meet Antonio Centeno, from Barcelona (Spain)

I am 38 years old. I have a degree in Maths and I have been working as a teacher in secondary education. I dedicate my time and energy to social activism (Independent Living Movement) and political movement (ICV). Since 2006 I have participated together with 7 other people in a pilot project of self managed…

May 12, 2010,

Meet Damjan Tatic, from Belgrade (Serbia)

damjan tatic What is your personal experience of disability? I have been a wheelchair user since the age of 10. I have been actively involved in Serbia’s disability movement since 1993, first in the Muscular Dystrophy Association as leader of the Youth Group, then as one of the founders of CIL Serbia in 1996 and…

May 12, 2010,

Meet Jelena Milosevic, from Belgrade (Serbia)

  I am 30 years old and I graduated from the University of Belgrade (the Faculty of Philology, the Department for English language and literature) in 2002. I live with my parents in Belgrade, my home-town. As a freelance translator I have worked for many companies and organizations, including organizations of persons with disabilities. In…

May 04, 2010,

Meet Javier Romañach, from Madrid (Spain)

  Javier Romañach My name is Javier Romañach Cabrero, I’m a 47 year old computer scientist and social activist. I was born in Spain, in Manresa, a small town not far from Barcelona, but I’ve lived in Madrid most of my life. I’m single and live in an apartment on my own, where I am…

Apr 06, 2010,

Meet Carmen Najera, from Valencia (Spain)

I’m the youngest of three, my eldest sister is not disabled and my middle brother has the same condition as I have. My parents worked and now both are retired. I live a more or less independent life in my own house with my partner for the last 11 years. I’ve always had to live…

Apr 06, 2010,

Meet Heléna Karnström, from Stockholm (Sweden)

What is your personal experience of disability? I was born with my disability and because of that I have personal assistance 24 hours a day and I’m using a power wheelchair. How did you discover the Independent Living movement? My first contact with the Independent Living moment was on a seminar held by Ed Roberts…